

Governor

STATE OF NEVADA

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE OF SCIENCE, INNOVATION & TECHNOLOGY

100 North Stewart Street, Suite 220 Carson City, Nevada 89701 775-687-0987 Fax: 775-687-0990



PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES

Name of Organization: STEM Advisory Council

Date and Time of Meeting: April 23, 2018 @ 4:00 PM

Place of Meeting:

Nevada State Library and Archives Governor's Office of Science Innovation and Technology 100 North Stewart Street, Suite 220 Carson City, NV 89701

Please use the following numbers to join the conference Call: North: 775-687-0999 or South: 702-486-5260 Access Code: 70987 push #

I. Call to Order / Roll Call

Brian Mitchell

The STEM Advisory Council was called to order by Brian Mitchell at 4:02 P.M. on April 23, 2018, on the above conference call. He will be running the meeting today.

Members Present:

Brian Mitchell Mark Newburn Kelly Barber Camille Stegman Chris Sewell Dave Brancamp Judy Kraus Richard Knoeppel Mary Holsclaw

Members Absent:

Cory Hunt Marcus Mason Shelace Shoemaker **Staff Present:** Debra Petrelli

II. Public Comment (No action may be taken upon a matter raised under public comment period unless the matter itself has been specifically included on an agenda as an action item.)

There was no public comment.

III. Designated STEM Schools and STEM Teachers of the Year Ratification: (For possible action)

Brian L. Mitchell

Designated STEM Schools:

Mr. Mitchell thanked the teams that performed the school visits and rated each school. He said there was a total of eleven schools that applied for the STEM school designation, nine from Southern Nevada and two from Northern Nevada. He proposed to the subcommittee a change in the scoring system this year by designating schools as either Model (Gold Standard), Established (Silver Standard), or Developing (Bronze Standard). He based these proposed changes on the fact that all schools who had applied for the designation deserved some sort of tiered-designation. The group further discussed this new system for scoring and decided it may engage schools to continue to pursue excellence and they will continue their efforts in coming years. The subcommittee agreed to continue following the same scoring rubric as last year, and to now add the tier-level to the designation as either a "Model," "Established," or "Developing," STEM school. The group also agreed that schools rating the designation of "Exploratory" schools, which fall below the "Developing" level, would not qualify as STEM schools and therefore not receive the STEM school recognition.

Ms. Barber asked about schools that had applied last year that were designated, but were not included in this new tiered system. Ms. Mitchell suggested that all schools who applied last year could be designated as "Model" schools. Ms. Barber asked about the schools that applied last year and did not fall within the rubric guidelines to be designated. Mr. Mitchell suggested that the process must move forward and it would be difficult to go back to re-rate those schools. He pointed out that in recent discussions with several members of this council about potentially creating a STEM leadership academy, those schools, not designated last year, could be the first schools invited to engage in the participation of that academy, then re-apply for the STEM school designation once they have a STEM plan in place.

Mr. Mitchell discussed a slightly modified design for the award banners for the Designated STEM Schools to be handed out at the Governor's designation ceremony on May 18, 2018. He said the new banners will designate the schools tier-level on the left had side, with the rest of the banner design remaining the same as last year. The group unanimously agreed to the new banner. Mr. Mitchell asked for a motion to designate the following schools as STEM Schools using the tiered-level method:

Doris French Elementary School, Las Vegas (MODEL) Southwest Career & Technical Academy, Las Vegas (ESTABLISHED) Dorothey Lemelson STEM Academy, Reno (ESTABLISHED) Coral Academy of Science, Henderson (DEVELOPING) Pinecrest Academy of Nevada, Henderson (DEVELOPING) Leavitt Middle School, Las Vegas (DEVELOPING) Joseph Neal STEM Academy, Las Vegas (DEVELOPING) Goynes Elementary Academy, Las Vegas (DEVELOPING) Riverview Elementary School, Dayton (DEVELOPING)

Ms. Barber made a motion to designate the above named schools as Designated STEM schools using the tiered-level method. Mr. Brancamp seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

STEM Teachers of the Year:

Mr. Mitchell thanked the review teams that assisted in the selection of the STEM Teacher of the Year awards. He said approximately thirty teachers were nominated. He said the review team ultimately selected six teachers. The teachers selected for STEM Teacher of the Year are:

Northern Nevada: Melissa Jones - Carlin Combined Schools, Carlin Leigh Metcalfe - Reed High School, Reno Tamara Roseberry - Cottonwood Elementary School, Fernley

Southern Nevada: Denise Burton – Northwest Career & Technical Academy, Las Vegas Teri Mann - Staton Elementary School, Las Vegas Alyse Sobosan - Equipo Academy, Las Vegas

Mr. Mitchell said these teachers will be recognized at the K-12 STEM Challenge events, taking place at Truckee Meadows Community College (TMCC) in Reno on May 2, 2018, and at College of Southern Nevada (CSN) in Las Vegas on April 30, 2018.

IV. Public Comment (No action may be taken upon a matter raised under public comment period unless the matter itself has been specifically included on an agenda as an action item.)

There was no public comment.

V. Adjournment

Brian Mitchell

Mr. Mitchell adjourned the meeting at 4:20 p.m.